Responsive Menu
Add more content here...

Explained: What is ‘Timed Out’ rule in cricket

Today Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka ODI match was being held today in Delhi when Sri Lankan player Angelo Mathews was declared ‘timed-out‘ during the match. This initiated a controversy and also an explanation was needed as this rule was never ever used before in any international cricket.

The rule states that, after the player batting has lost his wicket or has been retired due to some reason, the incoming batter should receive the ball or next batter should be ready to receive the next ball within 3 minutes of dismissal or retirement of previous batter. The rule is coded as MCC law 40.1 (Out-Timed Out)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

LIMITLESS FEED